Re: [messengers] 2011 Markus Cook award - call for nominations

Date: 8 Sep 2011 10:27:17 +0200
From: stefan vis <fishmeisterasd@xxxxxxxxx>

Bill Thain.


2011/9/8 Joe Hendry <messvilleto@xxxxxxxxx>

> It’s time to call for nominations for this year’s Markus Cook Award for
> services to the international messenger community.
> This will be the 14th year that the award is presented. It was started by
> Buffalo Bill in 1998, to remember Markus and to draw attention to messengers
> whose work benefits all of us.
> From the IFBMA’s Markus Cook Award page:
> “The MCA for services to the International Messenger Community is not a
> prize for winning a race. At the time the Award was conceived, CMWC was
> beginning to be more about the racing than the happening. I [ Buffalo Bill]
> wanted to re-establish the spirit of the championships, to restate the
> reason that we all come to this event every year.
> The MCA is a reflection of the axiom that everyone who comes to a CMWC is a
> winner, whether they race or not.
> >Markus himself was very much in love with the CMWC, and in many ways he
> was the unlikeliest bike racer imaginable. He was several other things, of
> course. Editor of Mercury Rising messenger zine, unofficial spokesperson of
> the SFBMA, leader of L Sid, and a friend to all. The enthusiasm of Markus
> brought CMWC and the international messenger community toSan Francisco, and
> it saddens many people to this day that he did not live to see it.
> This award is for people that inspire and empower the wider messenger
> community, that put all of us before themselves.”
> There is no limit to the number of nominees and anyone can nominate
> someone. The messenger community is fortunate to have many people who are
> willing to devote time and effort to improve the lot of others. The
> difficult part is narrowing the list down to just one recipient every year.
> Nominations will close on Sunday September 18
> So send your nominations to the messenger list and/or send it to my email.
> The basic but not so strict criteria are:
>   – it must be mainly for activities that have taken place in the last 12
> months; although you can also draw attention to his or her prior work.
>  - they don’t have to be a working messenger; they can be a former
> messenger
> The decision will be taken by a committee of former recipients and will be
> awarded as close to Messenger Appreciation Day (October 9) as possible.
> More on Markus:
> Markus Cook at the Messenger Memorial
> Mercury Falling from SF Weekly (<somewhat flawed)
> Letter replies to Mercury Falling
> Video clip of Markus:
> (Apologies for the video quality)
> -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Mess media -
> Mess archives -
> ===========================================
> _______________________________________________
> Messengers mailing list
> Messengers@xxxxxxxxx