[messengers] 2015 Markus Cook Award - Call for Nominations

Date: 15 Sep 2015 15:22:33 -0000
From: Messville <messville@xxxxxxxxx>

It’s time to call for nominations for this year’s Markus Cook Award for
services to the international messenger community.

This will be the 18th year that the award is presented. It was started by
Buffalo Bill in 1998, to remember Markus and to draw attention to
messengers whose work benefits all of us.

>From the IFBMA’s Markus Cook Award page: <http://messengers.org/?page_id=59>

“The MCA for services to the International Messenger Community is not a
prize for winning a race. At the time the Award was conceived, CMWC was
beginning to be more about the racing than the happening. I [ Buffalo Bill]
wanted to re-establish the spirit of the championships, to restate the
reason that we all come to this event every year.

The MCA is a reflection of the axiom that everyone who comes to a CMWC is a
winner, whether they race or not.

Markus himself was very much in love with the CMWC, and in many ways he was
the unlikeliest bike racer imaginable. He was several other things, of
course. Editor of Mercury Rising messenger zine, unofficial spokesperson of
the SFBMA, leader of L Sid, and a friend to all. The enthusiasm of Markus
brought CMWC and the international messenger community toSan Francisco, and
it saddens many people to this day that he did not live to see it.

This award is for people that inspire and empower the wider messenger
community, that put all of us before themselves.”

There is no limit to the number of nominees and anyone can nominate
someone. The messenger community is fortunate to have many people who are
willing to devote time and effort to improve the lot of others. The
difficult part is narrowing the list down to just one recipient every year.

So send your nominations to the* messenger list
<http://ifbma.org/subscribe>*, or visit the *Markus Cook Award page on
facebook* <https://www.facebook.com/MarkusCookAward> or by email to a
<messville@xxxxxxxxx>*. Please provide as much information about your
nominee as possible as we would like to showcase profiles of many of the

*The basic but not so strict criteria are:*

*  – it must be mainly for activities that have taken place in the last 12
months; although you can also draw attention to his or her prior work.*

* – they don’t have to be a working messenger; they can be a former

The decision will be taken by a committee of former recipients.

Past recipients of the Markus Cook Award:

2014 - Jérôme “Strom” Thiriet
Basel, Switzerland

2013 – Leah Hollinsworth
Toronto, Canada

2012 – Shawn “Bega” Blumenfeld
Washington, DC, USA

2011 – Stephanie ‘Papillon’ Bartczak
London, England

2010 - Nadir Olivet
Toronto, Canada

2009 - Luk Keller
Zurich, Switzerland

2008 – Martin Larsen
Copenhagen Denmark

2007 – Andy Zalan
, Washington DC, USA

2006 – Amy and Kevin “Squid” Bolger
New York City, NY, USA

2005 – Jean Andre Vallery
Sarasota, Florida, USA

2004 – “Buffalo” Bill Chidley
London, England

2003 – Wayne Scott
Toronto, Canada

2002 – Derek Chadbourne
Toronto, Canada

2001 – Joel “Magpie” Metz
San Francisco, CA, USA

2000 – John Kenda and the Philadelphia BMA
Boston/Philadelphia USA

1999 – Rebecca “Lambchop” Reilly

1998 – Joe Hendry
Toronto, Canada

*More on Markus:*

Markus Cook Award on facebook <https://www.facebook.com/MarkusCookAward>

Markus Cook at the Messenger Memorial

Mercury Falling from SF Weekly
<http://www.sfweekly.com/1996-05-08/news/mercury-falling> (<somewhat flawed)

Letter replies to Mercury Falling

Markus Cook and L. Sid page on Tapewrecks

*Video clip of Markus:*


(Apologies for the video quality)

Mess media

Attachments area
*Preview YouTube video Markus "Fur" Cook- bike messenger*
Markus "Fur" Cook- bike messenger